Spring is Almost Here Pineapple Cake

Standard
Spring is Almost Here Pineapple Cake

Spring is Almost Here Pineapple Cake

This is a light, refreshing cake that is great anytime of year, but really gets me in the mood for spring.  It is super easy and would be great for beginner bakers AND has no oil or butter! WooHoo! That makes it a winner in my book!

There are also lots of little ways to tweak this recipe to make it your own.
Share your substitutions in the comments. I’d love to try them!

Getting Ready to Bake a Cake!

Getting Ready to Bake a Cake!

Here’s what I used:

For the Spring is Almost Here Pineapple Cake

For the Topping
Click this link to go to my post for the complete recipe for my Deliciously Unctuous Lemony Topping

Toast the pecans until they smell nutty. About 3 minutes in a pan on the stove or on a sheet-pan in the oven. Let them cool.

Toasting pecans in a cast iron skillet

Toasting pecans in a cast iron skillet

Butter and line a 9″X13″ baking dish with parchment paper and then butter it again.
This will ensure that the cake comes out beautifully easy AND my baking dish won’t get wrecked by knife cuts!

Parchment-lined 9"X13" Stoneware Baking Dish. Make one piece to go length-wise and another to go the other way for easy lifting and no sticking!

Parchment-lined 9″X13″ Stoneware Baking Dish.
Make one piece to go length-wise and another to go the other way for easy lifting and no sticking!

Once the butter and cream cheese are soft, and I mean really soft, it’s time to pre-heat the oven to 350°.
Do NOT melt or soften in a microwave.  The consistency of these 2 ingredients will be the consistency of your topping.  If it’s runny, you’ll have a runny frosting- yuck!

Sift the flours and sugars and other dry ingredients into a mixing bowl and whisk them together.

Beat the eggs in a small bowl just to homogenize them and add the pineapple and all the juice from the can. Barely combine them and then pour into the dry mixture. Do NOT whip the eggs.

Add the wet ingredients to the dry, add the toasted pecans, and mix with a spatula just until everything is moistened and combined.  To keep it tender, do not over mix.

Pour batter into the prepared baking dish and bake in the middle of the pre-heated 350° oven.  Start checking for doneness at 30 minutes with a toothpick in the center.  It should not have batter on it.

Cake batter in lined baking dish.  Give it a couple of gentle drops onto a towel-topped counter to ease any air bubbles out.

Cake batter in lined baking dish. Give it a couple of gentle drops onto a towel-topped counter to ease any air bubbles out.

Allow the cake to rest at room temperature for about half an hour and then pull it out with the handy-dandy parchment paper liner and place the cake on a baking rack to cool completely.

This is about when I sneak a “tester” portion 🙂
You know, for quality control! Tee-hee 😉

A naked Spring is Almost Here cake.  Its nuts are showing! :P

A naked Spring is Almost Here cake. Its nuts are showing! 😛

I make the topping while the cake is cooling.

My favorite topping for this cake is my DELICIOUSLY UNCTUOUS LEMONY TOPPING, but you can top it with anything you want…or not at all!  This recipe would make a fantastic breakfast muffin or lunch snack cake with no topping at all.

Perfectly Pinnable naked Spring is Almost Here cake glamor shot

Perfectly Pinnable naked Spring is Almost Here cake glamor shot

Some notes:

I tend to be very specific about what ingredients I use.  I do this in case I want to adjust the recipe or experiment with it later.  I also find that when recreating someone else’s recipes, it can make a difference what brands are used in getting similar final results.  If I don’t mention a brand then I probably don’t remember what I used; I usually decant my bulk ingredients.
I do not receive compensation for linking to, using, or mentioning any brands.  I simply link to them to make it easy for you to know exactly what I’m using and help you to locate where it’s sold in case you’d like to try it.

t: little “t” is a teaspoon. ’cause it’s cute and little
T: big “T” is a Tablespoon. ’cause he’s the big brother
C: Cup

One response »

  1. Pingback: Deliciously Unctuous Lemony Topping | Enchanted Daisy

Leave a Reply

