Deliciously Unctuous Lemony Topping

Standard
Spring is Almost Here Pineapple Cake

Spring is Almost Here Pineapple Cake and Deliciously Unctuous Lemony Topping

Click the pic for my Spring is Almost Here Pineapple Cake recipe!!
 

This is one of my favorite cake/muffin/finger toppings because it is slightly sweet & tart and gives me that jaw-twinge/watery mouth reaction.

And it’s super-simple to boot:

Getting Ready to Bake a Cake!

My Sunny Country Kitchen

Cut the butter into pieces, no need to be fancy about it, and throw it into a mixer bowl and increase speed to high until butter is pretty whippy (using whip beaters is ideal but if a wider kind is used like this one, the topping will taste as good, but it will have tiny lumps of butter).

Cut the cream cheese into pieces and add to the butter and whip.

Add the sugar and salt.

This is the base and the other ingredients are for flavoring.  If you want to change it up, this is where you’d do it.

Add the liquid ingredients but stop if the topping starts to not hold its shape.  You want it to be creamy but have body.  If it’s too runny, add confectioners sugar.  If it’s too stiff, add liquid.

Taste and adjust to your liking.

Some ideas for other flavorings to add:

  • orange juice
  • just vanilla
  • just lemon

Let me know what variations you come up with!

Some notes:

I tend to be very specific about what ingredients I use.  I do this in case I want to adjust the recipe or experiment with it later.  I also find that when recreating someone else’s recipes, it can make a difference what brands are used in getting similar final results.  If I don’t mention a brand then I probably don’t remember what I used;I usually decant my bulk ingredients.
I do not receive compensation for linking to, using, or mentioning any brands.  I simply link to them to make it easy for you to know exactly what I’m using and help you to locate where it’s sold in case you’d like to try it.

t: little “t” is a teaspoon. ’cause it’s cute and little
T: big “T” is a Tablespoon. ’cause he’s the big brother
C: Cup

One response »

  1. Pingback: Spring is Almost Here Pineapple Cake | Enchanted Daisy

Leave a Reply

